Sue Murphy AO

Sue Murphy AO

Independent Non-Executive Director


Sue was appointed to the Board on 11 June 2019 and has over 40 years of experience in the resources and infrastructure industries. Holding a Bachelor of Civil Engineering from the University of Western Australia, Sue commenced as a Graduate Engineer with Clough Engineering in 1980. She went on to enjoy a 25-year career with Clough, progressing through a wide range of operational and leadership roles before being appointed to the Board of Clough Engineering Ltd in 1998.

After leaving Clough in 2004, she joined the Water Corporation of Western Australia as the General Manager of Planning and Infrastructure, before being appointed as Chief Executive Officer in 2008, a role she held for over a decade.

Sue has received many accolades throughout her career including being awarded the prestigious Sir John Holland Civil Engineer of the Year Award by the Board of the College of Civil Engineers, and is an Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia. She was recognised for her work in water infrastructure with the International Water Association’s 2014 Women in Water award and was the 2018/19 West Australian Business Leader of the Year at the AIM WA Pinnacle Awards.

She is currently a Director of the West Australian Treasury Corporation, Fremantle Dockers Football Club, MMA Offshore Limited and serves as a Senate Member of the University of Western Australia.